The Final Count Down

Today is my last day here in the beautiful country of Oman. It’s bitter sweet. I have really loved my time here. This has been one of the best months of my life. I have had such an amazing time and met so many new people that I don’t want to leave, but I want see my family and friends. Being a 14 hour plane ride is much different than being a 12 hour drive away.

I have learned sooooooo much living here. From improving my Arabic, which I will continue to work very hard with, to learning a lot about a country and culture I had previously known nothing anything about. I was able to expand my knowledge of people and do many things that I would not have been able to do otherwise. This has been an experience that will stick with me for a lifetime. I think traveling and seeing the world from different people’s perspectives is very important especially in the world we live in today. With media showing us only one side of stories I think it is very important to see things from a different perspectives and come to conclusions on your own.

Another positive thing about studying is that it helps you focus more on your goals. When you have alone time somewhere unfamiliar and you have time to reflect you get time to think about your goals and dreams. Something about looking under a different sky I’m not sure if that’s how it has been for everyone, but definitely for me. I have set goals for myself and after personal reflections following different experiences. I have definitely become more focused.

It wasn’t just all work though. It was also lots of fun. I had the time of my life. The beaches where beautiful, the mountains were magnificent, and buildings such as the mosque and the opera house were breathtaking. Snorkeling was my favorite part by far. The water and fish everything was great.

This country has been great. I absolutely loved it here. And will definitely be back and next time more time for pleasure. I can’t brag enough about the amazingness that is Oman.

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns please feel free to leave comments in the comment section. Also follow my Instagram @wanderlustingandcarpediem for more pictures.

Carpe diem,

Mallory

Leave a Reply

