What Christmas break means now

Christmas was always a fun time of the year for me even before college. Every year we went shopping for a real Christmas tree, made Christmas cookies, and watched 25 days of Christmas. As Christmas we also placed a high importance on the fat that it is also Jesus’ birthday. We read the Christmas story from the Bible and pray before any presents are opened. We also visit family and attend my best friends from high school’s party. It was really is a time of friends and family. College we get roughly three to four weeks and sometimes it still doesn’t feel long enough.

I go to college hundreds of miles away from my family and friends. I rarely see them. Attending college so far away from home has made me realize how blessed I am with such amazing friends and family. Group messages, Facebook, and tagging each other under Instagram post just sometimes doesn’t cut it. It’s not the same as speaking to with someone face to face. These three to four weeks are always just so great because I have the opportunity to spend quality time with people who genuinely care about you.

So this Christmas break my focus is different. It’s on relationships my relationships with my family and friends. I encourage everyone who goes to school far to do the same.

If you live in Charlotte some of my favorite things to do here are:

  • I like to enjoy a meal with friends at New Zealand Café. It is located on Saradis Road. They have amazingggggggg sushi.
  • I also go to the movies. I am a huge Regal Movie theatre fan because of their rewards program, but I highly recommend the Carolina Cinemas movie theatre on Independence Blvd. They have reclining seats. The Cinnebarre Movie theatre at the Arbortum shopping center is also very good. They bring you food which I think really adds to the experience.
  • I also spend some time at the Epic Center downtown. They have a movie theatre, a bowling alley, and a wide range of clubs in the complex.

These are just a list of some things that are fun to do in Charlotte over the break. If you have any other places in mind let me know.

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns please feel free to leave comments in the comment section. Also follow my Instagram @lifeasmalpal for more pictures.

Carpe diem,

Mallory

 

Leave a Reply

