My Next Adventure

Hiya friends,

So I’m going on an international trip! This time it is completely a vacation. Yay! I’m super excited. I will be going to the Bahamas!!!!!! Yes, that’s right the beautiful Caribbean country that screams paradise and happiness. I will be gone for an entire week for my best friend’s birthday celebration. I will be taking lots of pictures. Make sure you keep up with this as well as follow my Instagram account @lifeasmalpal. I will also be blogging as much as can, but I will be spending lots of times basking in the sun. But as I do for every country her is some facts about the country.

The Bahamas:

The Bahamas is part of the Lucayan archipelago. (If you have seen Rudolph’s Shiny New Year you what that is.) An archipelago is a group islands. The Bahamas is north of Cuba and Haiti and the Dominican Republic. It is south east of Florida. The capital is Nassau.

The Bahamas was one of the first places Columbus landed in 1492. The Spanish actually never colonized, but the English did in 1648. The British officially colonized in 1718. After the War of Independence the British brought the American Loyalist and slaves to live there. Eventually many of the slaves became free and the country began known as a place for free slaves to live. Slavery was completely abolished in the Bahamas in 1834. The country officially because independent in 1973, but it still has Queen Elizabeth as it’s monarch. It’s gdp is third biggest in all of the Americas after the US and Canada with their economy being mainly from finance and tourism.

Not only does this country have beautiful beaches, but it is also full of a rich history. I am very excited to see all the country has to offer. I will be blogging and taking pictures I want to share this country with you. Follow along and stay posted for updates on this trip.

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns please feel free to leave comments in the comment section. Also follow my Instagram @lifeasmalpal for more pictures.

Carpe diem,

Mallory

bahamas_map_2007-worldfactbook

 

Leave a Reply

