Yummy in my Tummy

Today I have decided to do a post about food. My last post about the wonderful country of The Bahamas is about a little sea snail called: conch. According to dictionary.com conch is “the spiral shell of a gastropod, any of various marine gastropods, and the fabled shell trumpet of the Tritons.” And it is GOOD! When we first arrived on the island all everyone talked about was conch- conch this conch that. I had high expectations for this new food. Along the various beaches we visited were stands that people had set up to sale the different variations of this food. I was able to try three variations of conch: conch fritters, conch salad, and cracked conch. Conch fritters are a yummy snack you can enjoy with a tangy orange sauce. It is basically breaded conch. It looks like a hushpuppy. Conch salad is conch mixed in with tomatoes, onions, and different seasonings. It has a similar taste to freshly made salsa. It’s also very delicious. Lastly I tried crack conch which is basically conch fried in a pan on the stove. It was not my favorite, but I did enjoy eating it. All in all the conch is yummy and everyone who decides to visit The Bahamas should try all three.

 

I had an amazing time these past few days from visiting the gardens, playing soccer on the beach, to eating till my tummy was completely full. I also really enjoyed meeting new people from whom I’ve learned a lot not just about culture, but life too. That’s what traveling will do to you. That’s what traveling is all about. The best part of it all was just being able to spend time with friends and making lasting memories. Now I’m back in the States and will be going back to my “regular” life. I have a lot of things planned though for these next few months and I can’t wait to share them with you. Stay tuned at what is going on with my boutique and my YouTube channel. As always if you have any questions, comments, or concerns please feel free to leave comments in the comment section. Also follow my Instagram @lifeasmalpal for more pictures.

Carpe diem,

Mallory

Leave a Reply

