Just a Girl in DC

If you have been following my Instagram page (@wanderlustingandcarpediem) then you know this past weekend, I spend it in Washington DC. Washington DC is my favorite city in the US. I’ve been there many many times. I even spent the semester in DC during my undergraduate career. It’s for sure such a great city. I also ways say it has the pace of the north, but the feel of the south. Also it’s the political hub of the US and if you know me that’s my jam. I just really love DC.

The reason I visited was for another conference (it’s conference season so I’m going to be headed somewhere almost every month). One of the reasons I love conferences so much is the community aspect. This was one that focused on public policy associated with an organization I am part of. It was most importantly Christian. We prayed constantly through out the conference and that just added to the experience. It was so great to be around Christians that were also interested in making political change. Many Christians take the back seat in these matters because they enjoy the little Christian bubble, but man, God does not call us to be in our Christina bubble. He tells us to go out and he tells us to go out many times in scripture. I think it’s so important as Christians at the very least to be educated on issues. Many Christians are not its evident when they speak with unbelievers and can be a turn off. Now that I am writing this, maybe, I’ll do a post about it. I can do a post about how to stay educated and up to date on issues that are going on in your local government as well as the federal government.

It was excited to be back in my favorite city and we were able to take a tour of the White House. For those who may not know, the White House is the house where the President of the United States lives along with his family usually his wife and children. Initially the White House was in New York City, New York, then in 1800 the White House was moved to Washington DC. I had been on a tour of the White House as well as had brunch there with another organization I am a part of, but every time it excites me. The White House houses the most powerful men and their families in the entire world. I bet if the walls could talk they would have the most interesting stories. Walking through the White House also reminds me of the importance of my role as an American citizen. Elected officials are there to serve me. People elect them to make the best decisions to benefit our country.

One of the best things for me during this trip was lobbying. I am not going to share what I lobbied for or against. One day I will share more of my political life, but as for now I will not be sharing. I did enjoy it though. It was my first time and I truly believe organizations going in doing those things make a difference. That’s what I’m all about making a difference.

I touched a little bit on the Christian aspect of the organization. But also being around uplifting women was so restoring for me. Sometimes women can be mean, competitive, and caddy, but these women were uplifting. Of course there will always be one or two women who decide to mean, but that’s part of working with humans. As I am now older, I see and understand the importance of being surrounded by strong and uplifting women. Not just being surrounded by them though, but also being one yourself. It’s important to treat people with love and respect. Your life becomes miserable if you’re loving everyone you come across. I love being girl and won’t change it for the world so I am always for women empowering activities where we work together as a unite to help make our families and communities better.

As always make sure you are following my Instagram page to continue to see cool pictures @wanderlustingandcarpediem and make sure you have liked my Facebook page Wanderlusting and Carpe Diem.

Carpe diem,

Mallory Finch

69947034_3218813038136746_6905751806408654848_n

 

 

Leave a comment