The Beauty In Trails

So as an extrovert, not leaving my home has been so hard. I miss places. Like just walking around the mall or going into Starbucks for the wifi. But one thing I’ve been doing EVERY SINGLE DAY is taking a walks. I spend at least an hour in the morning, occasionally in the afternoon, walking in my neighborhood. It gives me a chance to get out of the house. I have to get out because after being in the house all day I a little bit of cabin fever. It’s been fun. I see some of the same people every day and we now have a little head nod and hand signal now. “The shirtless man” (the name my brother and I call our neighbor across the street who lifts weights in his driveway shirtless told me “looking good” and “keep it up” so that made my day. Haha

The last two Saturdays I added something new to my walking. Now that the trails are open, I started walking trails with my best friend. It’s a great way for us to hang out and also get some exercise. As I have mentioned before, I am on a weight loss journey so the walking is a huge part of that. A huge part of hanging out with people is being surrounded by food. Thankfully, we have trails to explore now to change the narrative. We have done two separate trails currently. Well technically they are the same trail, but there are different beginning all throughout Charlotte. They all come together to create Four Mile Greenway. My favorite part about going on these trails is honestly the beauty surrounding them. I have grown to love looking at how God uses a paintbrush to on the Earth.

So far I’ve walked through two of the four entrances and I’ll do a better review once I’ve done all of them. In the mean time every get out. Get some fresh air. Even if you are unable to be productive getting outside will do wonders for your mental health.

Thank you for reading my post. If you haven’t already make sure you’re following my  Instagram pages @wanderlustingandcarpediem and @lifeasmalpal. Also keep an eye for my new podcast Make It Known with Mal available on ApplePodcast and Spotify.

Carpe diem,

Mallory Finch

Leave a comment