Apple Picking in NC Mountains

Well after about a two year hiatus. I am back! I’m doing more interesting travel and I have a very fun trip coming up I will tell you about in the future.

This past weekend myself and a group of friends went apple picking at Skytop Orchard. It’s a beautiful apple orchard in Flat Rock, North Carolina. The drive up was very pleasant. North Carolina in the fall is exceptionally beautiful. It’s early October so the leaves have started changing to the beautiful orange and reds that make North Carolina look like a postcard.

Once you get closer to the entrance there is a little bit of a wait time. Parking is a breeze. There are parking attendants directing traffic that help making parking much easier.

To do any attraction you will need cash. There is apple picking, of course, but also a hayride and apple cannons. It cost $25 for one bag of apples which gives a lot of apples. Myself and two of my friends split one bag and we all had plenty of apples. The other attractions range from $3-9.

The best time to go apple picking is the beginning of the season. We went the second weekend in October and some of the trees in the front were already barren. If you go in November, good luck. Lastly, plus size sisters, you’re going to walk. I do not remember walking up so many hills. I mean I have admittedly put on someone weight since 2015, but phew walking back up the hill was tiresome. Just be aware. I would say still do it and be proud of yourself as well as use it as motivation for next year so it won’t be as hard.

All in all I would recommend getting a group of friends together and going apple picking. It’s a great activity.

Carpe diem,

Mallory Finch

Leave a comment